Notre Histoire

Since Roman times, the Château de Crémat has been a wine-growing site located in an idyllic setting between the sea and the mountains. It was owned by atypical and visionary people who knew how to make it an architectural jewel.

  • histoire

    1906 la création

    In 1906, Antoine Mari, a prosperous olive oil merchant from Nice, built the Château de Crémat on the land of his ancestors “Li plana de Mari”. He thus contributed to the rebirth of the Bellet vineyard.

  • IMG_8493

    During the Roaring Twenties, the whimsical Irene Bretz, a wealthy shareholder in an American railway company, took over the Château.

    From 1923, she undertook major renovation work under the direction of the Charles Dalmas architectural firm, which was working on the construction of the Carlton in Cannes. She received all the celebrities of the Côte d’Azur, including a certain Gabrielle Chanel.
    It is said that she was inspired by the initials of the Château de Crémat, two intertwined C’s, to create the logo of her prestigious fashion house.

  • France, Alpes Maritimes (06), Nice, AOC Bellet, Domaine de Vin Toasc, verre de vin blanc

    In the 1940s, Pierre Tomé became the new owner of the Château. A visionary, he worked for the recognition of Bellet on a national level and had the terroir registered as an Appellation d’Origine Contrôlée (AOC) in 1941. As a key figure and president of the winegrowers’ union, he wrote a decisive chapter in the history of Bellet.

  • Salon Napoléon

    At the beginning of the 21st century, Cornelius Kamerbeek modernised the winery with the aim of making more complex, finer wines. In the same process, he obtained organic farming certification (AB) in 2014.

    Château de Crémat was taken over in 2017 by a family of French industrialists who are passionate about the vineyards and the region.
    Proud of this unique heritage, they are committed to highlighting the singular history of the château through numerous changes: renovation of the rooms, respect for the colours of Nice and decoration of the interiors in a “Roaring Twenties” style. The Château was fitted out with the furniture of the Ritz, the famous Parisian palace, whose furniture was bought at an auction.

Histoire

Dans ce décor privilégié, le Château de Crémat a été le lieu de résidence de personnages atypiques et prestigieux qui en font aujourd’hui une propriété unique en son genre.

  • photo époque Château de Crémat

    En 1906, Antoine Mari, marchand d’huile d’olive Niçois fait construire le Château de Crémat sur la terre de ses ancêtres “Li plana de Mari”. Il contribue ainsi à la renaissance du vignoble de Bellet.

  • IMG_8493

    Pendant les années folles, la fantasque Irène Bretz, richissime actionnaire d’une compagnie américaine de chemin de fer reprend le Château.

    Dès 1923, elle entreprend d’importants travaux d’aménagements sous la direction du cabinet d’architecture Charles Dalmas, qui œuvre à la construction du Carlton à Cannes. Elle reçoit tout ce que la Côte d’Azur compte de célébrités, dont une certaine Gabrielle Chanel.
    On raconte que celle-ci se serait inspirée des initiales du Château de Crémat, deux C entrelacés, pour créer le sigle de sa prestigieuse maison de couture.

  • France, Alpes Maritimes (06), Nice, AOC Bellet, Domaine de Vin Toasc, verre de vin blanc

    Dans les années 1940, Pierre Tomé devient le nouveau propriétaire du Château. Visionnaire, il œuvre pour la reconnaissance de Bellet au niveau national et fait inscrire ce terroir en Appellation d’Origine Contrôlée en 1941. Personnage central et président du syndicat des vignerons, il écrit un chapitre décisif dans l’histoire de Bellet.

  • IMG_1518

    Au début du XXIème siècle, Cornelius Kamerbeek modernise la cave dans le but d’élaborer des vins plus complexes, plus fins. Dans cette même démarche, il obtient la certification agriculture biologique en 2014.

    Le Château de Crémat est repris en 2017 par une famille d’industriels français qui se passionne pour les vignobles et la région.
    Fière de cet héritage unique, elle s’attache à mettre en lumière l’histoire singulière du château à travers de nombreux changements : rénovation des salles, respect des couleurs Niçoises et décoration des intérieurs dans un style “années folles”. Le Château a été aménagé avec le mobilier du Ritz, célèbre palace parisien, dont le mobilier a été acheté lors d’une vente aux enchères.